JoeCanuck

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Red and white once again! We've restored the classic look of JoeCanuck.

Author Topic: It's About Time  (Read 6979 times)

Blitzkrieg

• phpBB Joe Canuck Trooper
    • View Profile
It's About Time
« on: June 29, 2012, 06:48:46 PM »

Greetings to My Fellow Joe Fans in the Great White North!

After about three years of lurking and two Canadian Joe Conventions, I'm finally writing my first post on JoeCanuck.com. Pretty sad, but I have a PhD in procrastination.  ;)

Fortunately, that does not translate to my travel plans for this year's CJC. I bought my tickets from Brown Paper Tickets and just booked my flight to Toronto last night (Air Canada has a pretty good promotion going on for flights to Toronto from the U.S. - expires tonight). I just need to book my hotel room and rental car this weekend.

One of the main reasons that I keep coming back is the friendliness of the staff and attendees from both sides of the border, and the absence of cliqueiness that you typically find at other conventions. Folks welcomed me with open arms at both CJCs and I had conversations with fellow attendees as if I had known them for years. I met so many great people, and I wanted to finally give a shout out to a few in particular. Please forgive me if I forgot someone, I am trying to draw from 2 years of memories.  :D

Grunt 4 MVP - Thanks for the great conversations with you and your girlfriend while waiting in line for the exclusives two years ago. I would have loved to hear her commentary on her radio program the next weekday. And thanks for the souvenir hookup last year. It was very touching when you shared with me the stories of those people from lands away to whom you donated contributions.